Diluting Our Faith

Posted: June 6, 2010 in Christianity
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

How many of us have diluted our faith to keep peace with the world? I will be the first one to raise my hand.

I am no spring chicken. I am almost 50 years old. For so many years I have limited most of my conversation about my faith in God to Christians. I didn’t want to be bogged down in debate or embarrassed by being caught without an answer, so I shied away from discussing God with non-Christians. What changed all that? Well, God led me to Thoughts.com where I could express myself and say things that I haven’t been able to share with people for so long. That, of course, has brought a new freedom which I have been experiencing since being on this site.

Sure, I get angry, condemning and borderline offensive replies (especially considering the subjects I blog about), but that gives me the opportunity to speak the word of God and get some truth out there, whether people want to accept it or not. All I want to do is plant, water and reap the harvest. I’ve found it easier to share my faith in other formats, like on other web sites and in person. That is a freeing experience and one that the Lord has blessed me with. I thank God that in the few short weeks I’ve been on this site I’ve become more extroverted in the sharing of my faith.

Some of my friends are not believers and I have avoided actively sharing my faith to keep peace, but no more! I won’t hit them over the head with the bible, but I won’t bite my tongue when I have a Christian prospective on whatever they’re talking about either. If they want to put something out there in Thoughts.com, Facebook, Twitter, MySpace, etc. then they can expect a Christian perspective if I have an opinion. If they talk about gay marriage, racism, national security, Israel, etc. then they can expect to hear my Christian perspective.

So, I’ve decided that I will no longer water down my faith to make peace with the world. If the truth within God’s written word is an offense to others, then I just have to understand that and realize that the curses and condemnation are all part of sharing in the sufferings of Christ. Now “taking up my cross” has a more significant meaning to me. Too bad it took me this long to work this out. I used to be an outspoken Christian when I first became born-again (as I think we all are), and I’m glad that I’m getting back to that point in my life where the love of God just pours out!!!

Sure, I may lose some friends, but I might be used by God to save some of them from an eternity in hell, and that’s what my life is all about; sharing the word of God and rescuing my lost brothers and sisters from the hands of the enemy, Satan.

Praise God, I’m back baby!!!!!

Leave a Reply

